Vicars of Ambridge

Until autumn 1951: The Vicar was unnamed, a pleasant bibliophile who left to take up a cathedral post

1951 – Spring 1955: John Ridley

Spring 1955 – Christmas 1955: Norris Buckland was vicar as a locum

1956 – 1961: John Ridley

1961 – 1968: Matthew Wreford

1968 – 1973: David Latimer, vicar of Ambridge with responsibility for the parish of Penny Hassett (died in post)

Christmas 1973 – 1988: Richard Adamson (moved on to a parish in Durham)

1989 – 1991: Jerry Buckle (moved to Mozambique)

August 1991 – 1995: Robin Stokes, non-stipendiary minister serving Ambridge, Penny Hassett and Edgeley (moved on to a parish in Surrey)

January 1996 – January, 2003: Janet Fisher, already Vicar of Darrington, took on Ambridge, Penny Hassett and Edgeley as well (moved on to a parish in Southampton)

31st March – April 25th 2003: Suresh Mattai stood in over Easter

July, 2003 – Alan Franks, Vicar of Ambridge and Darrington, with responsibility for the parishes of Penny Hassett and Edgeley; also required to help out at Netherbourne, Loxley Barrett and Lakey Green

More information from Ambridge | Ambridge Reporter Discussion Forum